Tree

This is the view from my home desk. Every time I look up at this young oak, I can’t help but recite, in my head, a Jane Hirshfield poem I read in a class with Paul Willis. It’s one of many poems that have stuck with me. I just wish that I could share it in Paul’s calm, effortless voice.

Tree

It is foolish
to let a young redwood
grow next to a house.

Even in this
one lifetime,
you will have to choose.

That great calm being,
this clutter of soup pots and books —

Already the first branch-tips brush at the window.
Softly, calmly, immensity taps at your life.

One response to “Tree

Leave a Reply

jedd goble

Cinematographer of Two Story Films. I'm passionate about film and the way that stories can shape the world and change our perspectives.

subscribe

categories

